1858 remington forum

Author Topic: Paper cartridge taper  (Read 493 times)

Offline Dresden

Paper cartridge taper
« on: May 23, 2019, 08:37:38 AM »
I started making paper cartridges recently using the Lee conical and following the method described on utube
"Making paper cartridges my way"  I did not like the tails he had on them so I modified the method to glue sticking the ball in and trimming the paper at the lube groove. They look quite close to original.
I have recently purchased a Johnston-Dow mold and a Manley former and will post results latter.

I have original paper fuses made in 1863 at Frankford arsenal so I reverse engineered the process and made some, they fit the original fuse plugs I have and paper cartridges I made do as well so the taper is close.
Being a machinist I recognized this to be a Nr. 1 Morse taper.  I found a MT 1 reamer set on Amazon for $17
I will make a multiple loading block for the J-Dow bullet. Results will follow.

Offline Omnivore

• Ultimate Forum Legend
Re: Paper cartridge taper
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2019, 02:20:06 PM »
Hmm, well you had me up until you mentioned something about "fuses".  Also I'm not sure what you're doing with the tapered reamer.  I think you'll find that, for a loading block, a straight hole will suffice as well as anything.  That is, if I understand the use of the term "loading block" (as metal cartridge reloaders have used the term for generations) to be a simple block of wood with multiple holes in it to support the paper cases while charging them with powder and inserting bullets.