Photobucket

Author Topic: The Savage Navy  (Read 2151 times)

Offline sourdough

The Savage Navy
« on: February 10, 2015, 05:45:00 PM »
Found this European video to be intriguing. Had never heard of it before, and  IMO, a very quaint firearm insofar as the double motions cocking and firing. Very interesting, nonetheless.

I'm a noob here but have studied much of Civil War/War Of Northern Aggression history/tactics for many years, but I am learning more and more about pre-Civil War/Civil War/post Civil War conversion firearms. That era introduced more innovations than any previous and led to the greater innovations in the late 19th/early 20th century.

Enjoy!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aUJEeVK9PSs

Offline G Dog

• Ultimate Forum Legend
Re: The Savage Navy
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2015, 06:02:27 PM »
capandball.eu vids are really good.  Some of the best in my judgment. 

I like that .  Balázs Németh  (?) Hungarian guy, at least when he's speaking English.  The dude can really shoot too.

"Savage came in .44 also."  ERRATA: I HAVE SUBSEQUENTLY LEARNED HERE THAT THIS STATEMENT IS ERRONEOUS AND THAT THEY CAME IN .36 ONLY

Good post and topic there sourdough.

https://www.youtube.com/user/capandball

http://kapszli.hu/en/
« Last Edit: March 13, 2015, 11:59:36 PM by G Dog »
You are at war now; the liberty of your enemies is not an important concern.

Offline PaleHawkDown

• Forum Legend
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2015, 09:27:05 AM »
Dear Pietta:
Get cracking on a repro of this.

Thanks,
Pale

Offline Captainkirk

• Forum Caesar, Administrator Extraordinaire, Part-Time Gunslinger, Savior of used and abused, and neglected Remmies
  • Administrator
  • Ultimate Forum Legend
  • Black Powder Nut & Remmy fanatic
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2015, 10:09:10 AM »
Wow...very innovative! I really like the gas seal and cocking features! I've seen a few on GB but never paid any mind because they are so.....UGLY. But I could get to like one, I think.