Photobucket

Author Topic: 1851 Navy Reproductions  (Read 5855 times)

Offline sourdough

1851 Navy Reproductions
« on: January 02, 2015, 08:48:36 PM »
I am a noob to this forum. Have been lurking for quite some time.

I just bought a Pietta 1851 Colt .36 reproduction from Cabela's for $200, $5 shipping and state sales tax of $14 +/-. Good value insofar as I am concerned.

I am somewhat pleased with it. The wood does not fit the frame very well (oversized), but fits the grip frame well. I can fix that. The bluing and polishing of the barrel and cylinder is good. The color-case hardening was well done. It took a bit of actuating the action to get the revolver to smoothly go to full cock. I will mostly use this as a display piece until...

I want a conversion cylinder that uses .38 Special low powered ammo. I understand that the barrel bore is .375 and the .38 Special is .357. I am not looking for superb accuracy here.

Would a Uberti R & D cylinder fit a Pietta frame?

Or would this be better:

http://www.howelloldwestconversions.com/shop/productinfo.cfm?catID=261&productid=805&cfid=484118&cftoken=74db1bfab6fd3c46-C7C3F0D2-C29F-29A9-6E8C39E6F533F41D

Any help would be appreciated.

Offline ninetoes

Re: 1851 Navy Reproductions
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2015, 09:37:54 PM »
Well first off, welcome aboard !
Ok so you got the .36, and you want to convert it to cartridge. You seem to know the (severe) limitations. If you just gotta convert it, use the correct cylinder:
http://www.taylorsfirearms.com/cartridge-conversions/1851-1861-navy-conversion-cylinders/conversion-cylinder-for-pietta-1851-1861-navy-revolvers-38lc-blue.html it will save you some headaches.