Photobucket

Author Topic: Rogers & Spencer or another Remmy??  (Read 5852 times)

Offline Ari24

• Si vis pacem, para bellum ... WWJMBD?
Rogers & Spencer or another Remmy??
« on: May 23, 2012, 01:11:08 PM »
I'm a newbie on the forum and new to BP shooting as well but I've read enough here to know that one gun is not enough.  I've seen some very fine collections put together by all of you who can bid on GunBroker or get sales at Cabelas.  I'm not so lucky but there are compensations.
I'm looking to expand my collection but may not get past two or three examples.  I'm not allowed to carry so   personal defense is not an option , therefore I probably don't need a shorter barrel than the 6 1/2 " that I have... as much as I like the 1858 Sheriff model, SS, 5 1/2" - http://www.beckchasse.com/FicheProduit.asp?NumProduit=186

I had started to think that an Uberti version of my Pietta might be interesting but many of you appear to think that the quality is close enough to say there's no difference.

I've found that there exist still some Euroarms Rogers & Spencer .44s in the gun shops here, at about the same price as the sheriff model mentioned above.
The R&S appears to get good reviews and appears to be interesting in spite of not having a civil war history.
Can anyone suggest a good reason for or against either?
Thanks for your opinion.

Offline toolslinger

Re: Rogers & Spencer or another Remmy??
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2012, 04:33:40 PM »
My friend, if you can get a Rogers and Spencer for the same price as a Remington where you are ,do it.  You owe it to yourself to try out both.
Where I am R&S ARE highly desired and more than twice the price of a Remmie.

Offline Captainkirk

• Forum Caesar, Administrator Extraordinaire, Part-Time Gunslinger, Savior of used and abused, and neglected Remmies
  • Administrator
  • Ultimate Forum Legend
  • Black Powder Nut & Remmy fanatic
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2012, 09:00:13 PM »