Author Topic: Powder Progress  (Read 3277 times)

Offline ssb73q

• Ultimate Forum Legend
  • Gunsmoke junkie
Re: Powder Progress
« Reply #15 on: August 01, 2016, 01:13:49 PM »
Hi Lead, I look forward to your report smelting lead ore for lead.  )L$ )L$

There are a lot of things that can take all of one's time improving the shooting of these BP revolvers. Practice and more shooting practice takes most of my time, and I'm retired.

Maybe as a retired scientist, I appreciate the potential problems working to make BP more than most?

I'm not trying to minimize your fun, far from it. However, I would like to have you as a long term contributor to this message board and not learn that you hurt yourself.

Regards,
Richard
There’s nothing better in the morning than the smell of bacon and black powder smoke!

Offline Dutchie

« Reply #16 on: August 02, 2016, 12:41:44 PM »

They say to use soft woods, and to avoid hard woods. I am using willow, I hear grape works, and adler is good, and hemp.
So your a Dutchman, huh? Well I happen to be one of the very few Americans who knows who Karel Doorman was. I have a book I would suggest all Dutchman read, "The Ghost That Died At Sunda Strait", by Walter Winslow. In  fact, I suggest it to everyone, it's one of those books that really made a huge impression on me. It's written by an American, but he was pretty clear about who's party that was, and who the hero of the story is, Doorman. But there aren't many eye witness accounts of that event, since there were so few survivors, and I don't think any of the Dutch survived it, so take what accounts you can get.
https://www.amazon.com/s?ie=UTF8&field-keywords=the%20ghost%20that%20died%20at%20sunda%20strait&index=blended&link_code=qs&sourceid=Mozilla-search&tag=mozilla-20
That'll be the best $10 you ever spend on a book, read it, and share it.

Hi Lead Ball!

I'm truly FLABBERGASTED!
Thanks again, and I'll tell you why...

... Better still, I'll PM...