1858 remington forum

Author Topic: Lubed over powder wad/ filler  (Read 4844 times)

Offline Old and grumpy

Lubed over powder wad/ filler
« on: March 22, 2017, 03:35:20 PM »
 It did not take long to get tired of the mess of filler under the ball and lube over it when I started shooting Cap&Ball. I figured there had to be a better way than costly felt wads and the mess of grits or coffee grounds and crisco. So I came up with this.

I got fiber filler wads from BPI.  They are 1/2" long. Soak them in your melted lube. I wrap them in rags put that in a zip lock bag and let them bake in the sun on the dash board of my truck so the excess comes out. Then with a blade cut them in half to 1/4".

They work as filler and lube. I use the un lubed ones in BP cartridges.

For $10 I end up with 1000 wads. No mess ,no punching out felt. No time messing with crisco or filler. PS- using coffee as filler smells good!

http://www.ballisticproducts.com/Fiber-Cushion-Filler-Wad-1_2/productinfo/FC/
Occupied California.Pray for us.----- Proudly Deplorable. Proudly not deportable.

Offline Hylander

Re: Lubed over powder wad/ filler
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2017, 05:39:52 PM »
Why use filler of any kind?

Offline Hawg

• Administrator
  • Ultimate Forum Legend
  • You done went and done it now!
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2017, 08:10:58 PM »

Some people claim wussy loads are more accurate. I think they just can't handle the recoil of full loads. Now where did I put that flame suit?  {_K
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for thou art crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.

Offline Hylander

« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2017, 11:22:58 PM »

Some people claim wussy loads are more accurate. I think they just can't handle the recoil of full loads. Now where did I put that flame suit?  {_K

(?^

My normal accuracy load is 30gr. fff 777, gives about 1000fps and recoil is still pretty mild.
I have stuffed the cylinder as full as I can get it and recoil is still not heavy.

Offline Omnivore